

To European Athletics, European Championships, Münchner Olympiapark GmbH and Eurosport/Eurovision

Prevent dangerous heat marathon at the European Championships in Munich - move start times!

Protecting the health of participating athletes should always be the priority when organizing any type of sport event. Prolonged exposure to extreme heat can cause heat-stress disorders such as heat cramps, heat exhaustion or heat strokes. The marathon races of the European Championships are set to start on August 15, 2022 at 10:30 a.m. (women) and 11:30 a.m. (men). The weather forecast projects temperatures of up to 37 degrees Celsius for this day. Considering the severe risks these conditions pose to our health, we – more than 50 runners set to compete in the races – urge the organizers to move the start to an earlier time.

We are aware that the topic has been unsuccessfully raised with European Athletics by its Athletes Committee and other stakeholders. Especially considering the dramatic images of athletes suffering from extreme heat at previous events it is incomprehensible that our concerns have not been taken seriously. Leading sporting federations such as the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and World Athletics have set good examples before, rescheduling championship competitions in midsummer so that athletes are at least spared the most extreme conditions.

At this point we do not feel that the organizers will change their mind which is why we make our demand public. We fully support the intention to boost our sport through TV exposure during the day and making it more accessible for spectators. Yet, these considerations should never take precedence over our health.



Katharina Steinruck Germany

Matea Parlov Koštro Croatia

> Becky Briggs Great Britain

Sondre Nordstad Norway

Nina Chydenius Finland

Hanne Verbruggen Belgium

> Andrew Heyes Great Britain

Sara Moreia Portugal

Rabea Schöneborn Germany

Ann-Marie McGlynn Irland

> Eyob Faniel Italy

Arkadiusz Gardzielewski Poland

Ignas Bras Lithuania Giovanna Epis Italy

Amanal Petros Germany

Primoz Kobe Slovenia

Deborah Schöneborn Germany

> Rene Cuneaz Italy

Simon Boch Germany

Astrid Verhoeven Belgium

Konstantin Wedel Germany

> Florian Carvalho France

Arttu Vattulainen Finland

Astrid Verhoeven Belgium

> *Gáspár Csere* Hungary

Kamil Jastrzebski Poland **Mohamud Aadan** Great Britain

Lonah Salpeter Israel

Domenika Mayer Germany

> *Alice Wright* Great Britain

Hendrik Pfeiffer Germany

Benjamin Choquert France

> Illias Aouani Italy

Kristina Hendel Germany

Michael Gras France

Angelika Mach Poland

Tom Hendrikse Netherlands

> Yago Rojo Spain

Maor Tiyouri Israel Nicolas Navarro France

> **Ben Connor** Great Britain

Luke Caldwell Great Britain

Miriam Dattke Germany

Adam Nowicki Poland

Yohan Durand France

Richard Ringer Germany

> **Abdi Ulad** Netherlands

Riad Ouled France

Katarzyna Jankowska France

Alisa Vainio Finland

Emmanuel Roudolff France